Chanco on the James Board of Directors 2015
Chanco on the James Board of Directors 2017

Our Board of Directors

Chanco on the James is a 501(c)(3) organization that is managed by a volunteer board of directors under the guidance and leadership of the bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia, the Rt. Rev. Herman “Holly” Hollerith, IV. The Chanco Board of Directors is made up of clergy and lay persons and we strive to represent all convocations in the Diocese. All board members are members in good standing of an Episcopal church in the Diocese of Southern Virginia. The Board President reports directly to the Bishop of the Diocese of Southern Virginia.

Our board members all have distinct connections to Chanco whether through the camp programs as a camper or having children who were campers, the Happening program, the Cursillo program, and EYC (Episcopal Youth Community) retreat programs among many other Chanco connections.

The Board of Directors generally meets every other month on the third Tuesday of the month at 4 pm at Chanco on the James. Board members also serve on at least one committee cluster: finance, property or programs. To be a board member, you must fill out a board nomination form and submit it to the board of directors. Click here to learn how to join our board.


< < < Click Here To Join Our Board of Directors > > >



The 2016 Chanco Board of Directors

The Rt. Rev. Herman “Holly” Hollerith
Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia

The Rev. Canon Ed Tracy
Canon for Administration

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia

Ms. Ashley Scruggs
Diocesan Youth Missioner
Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia

Mr. Dave Belote
St. Aidan’s, Virginia Beach

Mr. Jerry Twigg
Grace Church, Yorktown

Mrs. Angie Lowry
Christ Church, Smithfield

< < < < Term Expiring 2017 > > > >

Mr. Doug Bullett
St. Michael’s, Bon Air

< < < < Term Expiring 2018 > > > >

Mr. Charlie Schindler
Emmanuel, Virginia Beach

Mr. Jim Marquette
St. Simon’s by the Sea, Virginia Beach

Ms. Juli Edwards
St. Christopher’s, Portsmouth

Mr. Jimmy Newsome
Emmanuel, Franklin

< < < < Term Expiring 2019 > > > >

Mr. Bill Porter
Bruton, Williamsburg

Ms. Nancy Beach
St. John’s, Hampton

The Rev. Eileen Walsh
St. Christopher’s, Portsmouth

Mr. Michael Vasiloff
St. Michael’s, Colonial Heights

Mr. Neil Newsome
St. Matthias, Midlothian

Mr. Gonjoe “Buzzy” Winn
Good Shepherd, McKinney


Donate_NowFInd Chanco on FaceBookYouTubeChancoInstagramEmail-Chanco